Student Award

In 2010, the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to implement an annual “Best Student Presentation Award” to recognize original contributions to the conference from outstanding student attendees. A cash prize is awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place papers through a committee selection and voting process.

During the 2018 submission process, students have the opportunity to sign up for the competition for the Best Student Presentation Award during the conference. Based on the reviews of all these papers, the Award Committee will select the IRMMW-THz 2018 Best Student Presentation Award finalists.

The finalists will present their work to the Student Award Committee in a closed session during the conference. The winner will be announced and the Award presented during the conference banquet.


  • Candidates may apply for the Award when they upload their one-page conference abstracts. If the candidates have more than one submission, they must choose only ONE paper for consideration. They are being required to submit an extended abstract (2 page) after submission. Applicants are directly informed of details of extended abstract submission by e-mail.
  • To qualify, candidates must be full time students at the time of abstract submission, and they must have been fully responsible for the work that is being judged. If the student is shortlisted as a finalist, a letter or statement of support will be requested from their advisor that verifies their status as a student and their responsibility for the paper.
  • The Technical Program Committee will review all the entries and preselect 6 candidates for individual presentations to the Award Committee during a special session at the 2018 conference. Each candidate must present his/her paper in person at the session.
  • The time and location of the presentation will be communicated to the 6 finalists well in advance of the conference. All finalists are expected to attend the conference and make their presentations to the Award Committee in order to qualify for one of the 3 awards.