A Bit of Conference History

Founded in 1974 under the title, International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, today's International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz) continues to grow in scope and stature. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). After 2008, the conference name was shortened to the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX.

On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize annually awarded for outstanding contributions to the science of IRMMW-THz field, and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award for continuous contributions over a long period of time to the Society and community. The Society also institutes the Young Scientist Award for interdisciplinary and outstanding scientific work by a young scientist in the field. The current membership of the IOC can be found here and general information on the conference series at the society web page: www.irmmw-thz.org.

Nagoya 2018

Since 2000, the IRMMW-THz conference series has alternated between Asia, Europe and America on a continuous three year cycle. In 2018, the conference returns to the Asian leg, and will be held in Nagoya, Japan, from September 9 to 14 at the Nagoya Congress Center, Nagoya. We look forward to seeing you in Nagoya!