IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award

Current Winner


Dr. Gian Piero Gallerano

ENEA-Frascati, Italy

About the Award

In 2010 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute an annual award honoring Exceptional Service to the Society and the IRMMW-THz Community at large. This award recognizes a single individual who has contributed continuously, and over a long period of time, to the goals of the IRMMW-THz Society and to the expansion of influence and organization of our technical community. The prize consists of a certificate, a compendium of all past IRMMW-THz conference brochures, and a waiver of the registration fee for attendance at the conference for the year in which the award is given. Nominations are open to anyone from the IRMMW-THz community. Winners are selected by vote of the IRMMW-THz International Organizing Committee at the conference which precedes the award. Nominations are open two months prior to the conference, and consist of a nominee name and affiliation and short write up describing the relevant contributions that would warrant receipt of the award (no CV's or paper lists, please, this is a Community Service award). Nominations should be sent to the IRMMW-THz General Secretary: Peter H. Siegel at Winners will be announced at the IRMMW-THz Conference Banquet each year.

THE 2018 RECIPIENT IS: Dr. Gian Piero Gallerano, ENEA-Frascati, Rome, Italy!

Past Winners:

Professor Rick Temkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Professor Terrence Parker, University of Colchester, UK.
Professor Michael von Ortenberg of Humboldt University, Germany
Dr. Peter H. Siegel of California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
Professor Koji Mizuno of Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
Professor Shenggang Liu of UESTC, Chengdu, China
Professor Manfred Thumm of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany